The Greatest Ever Cheltenham Gold Cup Winners

Counting down from five to one, we have picked out what we believe to be the best-ever Cheltenham Gold Cup winners

The Greatest Ever Cheltenham Gold Cup Winners
The Greatest Ever Cheltenham Gold Cup Winners

As we continue our celebration of 100 years of the Cheltenham Gold Cup we're overcome with nostalgia at as we debate the greatest ever Cheltenham Gold Cup winning horses. Ahead of the 2024 Cheltenham Gold Cup we're counting down from five to one, picking out what we believe to be the best-ever Cheltenham Gold Cup winners.

5. Cottage Rake (1948, 1949, 1950)

Kicking off our list is the peerless Cottage Rake, whose hat-trick of victories from 1948 to 1950 marked him as one of the most dominant forces in Cheltenham Gold Cup history. Trained by Vincent O'Brien and guided by the skilled hands of Aubrey Brabazon, Cottage Rake's flawless performances captivated a generation and left an indelible mark on the sport.

4. Kauto Star (2007, 2009)

A modern-day marvel, Kauto Star is the only horse ever to regain the Cheltenham Gold Cup, winning in 2007 and 2009. Trained to perfection by Paul Nicholls and partnered with brilliance by Ruby Walsh, Kauto Star's victories showcased his remarkable versatility, impeccable jumping, and unyielding determination. His stirring battles with the best of his generation elevated him to iconic status, securing his place among the all-time greats.

2009 Cheltenham Gold Cup: Kauto Star regains the Gold Cup

3. Golden Miller (1932, 1933, 1934, 1935, 1936)

No discussion of Cheltenham Gold Cup greatness would be complete without paying homage to the peerless Golden Miller, whose five consecutive victories from 1932 to 1936 remain unmatched to this day. Trained by Basil Briscoe and ridden by the incomparable Gerry Wilson, Golden Miller's unprecedented dominance in the pre-war era is a testament to his extraordinary talent and enduring legacy.

2. Best Mate (2002, 2003, 2004)

Next, we pay tribute to the remarkable Best Mate, whose three consecutive triumphs from 2002 to 2004 catapulted him into the pantheon of Cheltenham Gold Cup legends. Trained with precision by Henrietta Knight and expertly ridden by Jim Culloty, Best Mate's flawless performances captured the hearts of racing fans worldwide. His undeniable talent, unwavering determination, and indomitable spirit cemented his status as one of the greatest stayers the sport has ever seen.

Cheltenham Gold Cup: Best Mate's hat-trick of wins

1. Arkle (1964, 1965, 1966)

At the very top of our list reigns the incomparable Arkle, a true titan of the turf whose name echoes through the halls of racing immortality. Trained by the legendary Tom Dreaper and piloted by the skilled hands of Pat Taaffe, Arkle's three consecutive victories from 1964 to 1966 remain the stuff of legend. His sheer dominance, breathtaking speed, and seemingly effortless leaps over the imposing Cheltenham fences have etched his name into the annals of sporting greatness forever.

Icon for NAGS Bet

Deposit and bet £10 and get a £10 free bet to use on any market. Simple! 4.5 ★1401 ratings, 0 reviews

Claim here Review & Details