Top Ten Greatest Grand National Moments: Number Five

2010 - McCoy Finally Rides A Grand National Winner

Top Ten Greatest Grand National Moments: Number Five
Top Ten Greatest Grand National Moments: Number Five

The countdown to the Grand National gathers pace on Monday with just five days to go until the single most significant event on the UK’s annual betting calendar. As we continue our countdown of the greatest grand national moments, number five on our list is the most recent selection in our top ten.

5 - McCoy Finally Rides A Grand National Winner

Year: 2010

Winner: Don’t Push It

Odds: 10/1 JF

AP McCoy is undoubtedly one of the greatest National Hunt jockeys of his generation but up until 2010, McCoy’s illustrious career in the saddle had one glaring omission. Ahead of the 2010 Grand National, McCoy had never won the iconic steeplechase, despite contesting the race on 14 occasions since his Grand National debut in 1995. The 20-time champion jockey was booked to ride Don’t Push It for trainer, Jonjo O’Neill.

Don’t Push It had won the John Smith’s Handicap Chase at Aintree twelve months earlier but headed to the 2010 Grand National having pulled up at the Cheltenham Festival. Despite this, the money piled in for Don’t Push It with many believing 2010 would finally be Tony McCoy’s year. On the morning of the Grand National, Don’t Push It was available at around 20/1 but went off as 10/1-joint favourite.

In front of a record Aintree crowd of more than 70,000, Don’t Push It would finish five lengths clear of Black Apalachi in second and State Of Play a further 20 lengths back. McCoy returned in 2011 with Don’t Push It but could only manage fifth in the 2011 renewal.

Finishing Positions

PositionNameStarting Price
1stDon't Push It10/1 JF
2ndBlack Apalachi14/1
3rdState of Play16/1
4thBig Fella Thanks10/1 JF
5thHello Bud20/1
6thSnowy Morning14/1
7thCharacter Building16/1
8thCloudy Lane25/1
9thTricky Trickster16/1
10thJoe Lively33/1
12thComply or Die12/1
14thPriests Leap100/1


NameStarting Price
King John's Castle28/1
Eric's Charm33/1
Pablo Du Charmil100/1
My Will20/1
Made in Taipan100/1
Can't Buy Time33/1
Irish Raptor33/1
Royal Rosa66/1
Arbor Supreme16/1
Madison Du Berlais50/1
Beat The Boys66/1
The Package14/1
Vic Venturi25/1
Ellerslie George66/1
Dream Alliance16/1
Mon Mome14/1
Palypso De Creek66/1
Niche Market16/1
Conna Castle100/1
Ollie Magern100/1

A Countdown Of The Greatest Grand National Moments

10.  The Monday National (1997)

9. Golden Miller Creates History (1934)

8. Esha Ness wins the Grand National that never was (1993)

7. Ginger McCain wins a fourth Grand National (2004)

6. Tipperary Tim wins at 100/1 (1928)

5. McCoy Finally Rides A Grand National Winner (2010)

4. ?

3. ?

2. ?

1. ?

Icon for NAGS Bet

Deposit and bet £10 and get a £10 free bet to use on any market. Simple! 4.5 ★1401 ratings, 0 reviews

Claim here Review & Details